Kings, Emperors and Presidents of France Part 5: From Napoleon I to the Third Republic

Napoléon Bonaparte is elected First Consul in 1799 with Roger Ducos and Joseph Sieyès then First Consul for Life in 1802. The 18th of May 1804, the Constitution declared him Emperor of the French and it is approved by a plebiscite in November. Napoleon I is sacred at Notre-Dame-de-Paris on 2nd December of the same year. We are now in the period called the First Empire. The Senate deposed him the 3rd April 1814 and Napoléon abdicates in favor of his son. Three days later, he offers his unconditional abdication.