Departments of France

France is divided into regions, which are then divided into departments (Departements). There is a total of 96 excluding the overseas territories. Each department has a unique number, which is used for many administrative reasons, such as the vehicle registration plates, postcodes, but not phone numbers. If you see a car where the last two numbers are 06, then it comes from the "Alpes Maritimes" in southern France. If you send a postcard to someone in Paris then the postcode would be 75000.

After the French Revolution, the country was originally divided in to 82 departments, as the population has grown and for administrative reasons certain of themhave been divided into smaller areas (especially near Paris).

If you want to see where each departement is located use the map of the departments, or check out the various map images with contours, outlines and coloured versions.

A full list in alphabetical order showing the number, name and a brief description. Click on the department name for detailed information.
Number Name Region
(from 2016)
(before 2016)
1 Ain Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
2 Aisne Nord-Pas-de-Calais Picardie Picardie
3 Allier Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Auvergne
4 Alpes de Haute Provence Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
6 Alpes Maritimes Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
7 Ardèche Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
8 Ardennes Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine Champagne-Ardenne
9 Ariège Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Midi-Pyrénées
10 Aube Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine Champagne-Ardenne
11 Aude Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Languedoc-Roussillon
12 Aveyron Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Midi-Pyrénées
67 Bas Rhin Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine Alsace
13 Bouches du Rhône Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
14 Calvados Normandie Basse-Normandie
15 Cantal Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Auvergne
16 Charente Poitou-Charentes Poitou-Charentes
17 Charente Maritime Poitou-Charentes Poitou-Charentes
18 Cher Centre Val de Loire Centre
19 Corrèze Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes Limousin
2a Corse du Sud Corse Corse
21 Cote d'Or Bourgogne Franche-Comté Bourgogne
22 Cotes d'Armor Bretagne Bretagne
23 Creuse Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes Limousin
79 Deux Sèvres Poitou-Charentes Poitou-Charentes
24 Dordogne Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes Aquitaine
25 Doubs Bourgogne Franche-Comté Franche-Comté
26 Drôme Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
91 Essone Île-de-France Île-de-France
27 Eure Normandie Upper-Normandy
28 Eure et Loir Centre Val de Loire Centre
29 Finistère Bretagne Bretagne
30 Gard Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Languedoc-Roussillon
32 Gers Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Midi-Pyrénées
33 Gironde Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes Aquitaine
68 Haut Rhin Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine Alsace
2b Haute Corse Corse Corse
31 Haute Garonne Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Midi-Pyrénées
43 Haute Loire Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Auvergne
52 Haute Marne Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine Champagne-Ardenne
74 Haute Savoie Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
87 Haute Vienne Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes Limousin
5 Hautes Alpes Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
65 Hautes Pyrénées Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Midi-Pyrénées
92 Hauts de Seine Île-de-France Île-de-France
34 Hérault Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Languedoc-Roussillon
35 Ille et Vilaine Bretagne Bretagne
36 Indre Centre Val de Loire Centre
37 Indre et Loire Centre Val de Loire Centre
38 Isère Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
39 Jura Bourgogne Franche-Comté Franche-Comté
40 Landes Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes Aquitaine
42 Loire Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
44 Loire Atlantique Pays-de-la-Loire Pays-de-la-Loire
41 Loir et Cher Centre Val de Loire Centre
45 Loiret Centre Val de Loire Centre
46 Lot Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Midi-Pyrénées
47 Lot et Garonne Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes Aquitaine
48 Lozère Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Languedoc-Roussillon
49 Maine et Loire Pays-de-la-Loire Pays-de-la-Loire
50 Manche Normandie Basse-Normandie
51 Marne Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine Champagne-Ardenne
53 Mayenne Pays-de-la-Loire Pays-de-la-Loire
54 Meurthe et Moselle Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine Lorraine
55 Meuse Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine Lorraine
56 Morbihan Bretagne Bretagne
57 Moselle Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine Lorraine
58 Nièvre Bourgogne Franche-Comté Bourgogne
59 Nord Nord-Pas-de-Calais Picardie Nord-Pas-de-Calais
60 Oise Nord-Pas-de-Calais Picardie Picardie
61 Orne Normandie Basse-Normandie
75 Paris Île-de-France Île-de-France
62 Pas de Calais Nord-Pas-de-Calais Picardie Nord-Pas-de-Calais
63 Puy de Dôme Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Auvergne
64 Pyrénées Atlantiques Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes Aquitaine
66 Pyrénées Orientales Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Languedoc-Roussillon
69 Rhône Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
69M Métropole de Lyon Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
71 Saône et Loire Bourgogne Franche-Comté Bourgogne
70 Haute Saône Bourgogne Franche-Comté Franche-Comté
72 Sarthe Pays-de-la-Loire Pays-de-la-Loire
73 Savoie Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Rhone Alpes
77 Seine et Marne Île-de-France Île-de-France
76 Seine Maritime Normandie Upper-Normandy
93 Seine Saint Denis Île-de-France Île-de-France
80 Somme Nord-Pas-de-Calais Picardie Picardie
81 Tarn Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Midi-Pyrénées
82 Tarn et Garonne Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées Midi-Pyrénées
90 Territoire de Belfort Bourgogne Franche-Comté Franche-Comté
95 Val d'Oise Île-de-France Île-de-France
94 Val de Marne Île-de-France Île-de-France
83 Var Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
84 Vaucluse Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur
85 Vendée Pays-de-la-Loire Pays-de-la-Loire
86 Vienne Aquitaine-Limousin-Poitou-Charentes Poitou-Charentes
88 Vosges Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine Lorraine
89 Yonne Bourgogne Franche-Comté Bourgogne
78 Yvelines Île-de-France Île-de-France

Your comments

Tony : Nice easy and well laid out site. Would like to see a map with this site with the departments numbered. Thank you

Admin : You'll find the map you need on the following page.